News of the Week

Interesting Berkman Center Conference Live Webcast: Wednesday Feb. 6

Live Webcast: Social Media and Behavioral Economics Conference: http://www.law.harvard.edu/news/2013/02/social-media-and-behavioral-economics-conference.html And lucky you, it ends before class Wednesday if you are in the mood to get up at 6 AM. jon

News during the week (sort of)….

Dr. Richard Smith, Director of the Centre for Digital Media & I are doing an SFU Philosophers’ Cafe this Wednesday night (January 30, 2012) at the Roundhouse at 7:30 PM. The title is “Creating and thriving in a post-intellectual property world.” Am sure you see quite enough of me – but just in case you […]

News of the Week; Jan. 23, 2013

1. Missouri lawmaker latest to propose “violent” games tax: http://arstechnica.com/gaming/2013/01/missouri-lawmaker-latest-to-propose-violent-games-tax/ 2. 25 Video Game Violence Studies, Summarized: http://kotaku.com/5976781/25-video-game-violence-studies-summarized 3. I’m Mentally Ill, I Love Violent Video Games, And They’ve Never Made Me Feel Like Killing Anyone: http://kotaku.com/5976286/im-mentally-ill-i-love-violent-video-games-and-theyve-never-made-me-feel-like-killing-anyone 4. Video Games Hold No Answers: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/paul-mones/video-games-violence_b_2480823.html 5. How the Legal System Failed Aaron Swartz—And Us by Tim Wu: http://www.newyorker.com/online/blogs/newsdesk/2013/01/everyone-interesting-is-a-felon.html 6. Aaron Swartz and the Corrupt Practice of Plea […]

News of the Week; Wednesday Jan. 16, 2013

1. Processing the loss of Aaron Swartz – Danah Boyd: http://www.zephoria.org/thoughts/archives/2013/01/13/aaron-swartz.html 2. Researchers Find that Web Site Blocking Has No Long-Term Affect in Combating Online Piracy: http://www.gamepolitics.com/2013/01/08/researchers-find-web-site-blocking-has-no-long-term-affect-combating-online-piracy#.UPpDV6XUQco 3. The Way Forward on Copyright Reform – Derek Khanna: http://www.cato-unbound.org/2013/01/07/derek-khanna/the-way-forward-on-copyright-reform/ 4. What to Watch for in Canadian Intellectual Property Law in 2013: http://excesscopyright.blogspot.ca/2013/01/what-to-watch-for-in-canadian-ip-law-in.html 5. Copyright and Industrial Design Developments – 2012 (paper) – Glen Bloom, Barry […]

Jon Stewart on guns, real & virtual

On a lighter note, in case you missed it earlier this week. From The Daily Show by way of Kotaku: http://kotaku.com/5974648/the-daily-show-calls-out-scapegoat-artists-in-the-video-games-and-gun-control-debate

News of the Week; Wednesday Jan. 9, 2013

1. Father Hires In-Game “Hitmen” To Deter Son From Playing: http://kotaku.com/5972406/father-hires-in+game-hitmen-to-deter-son-from-playing 2. I was Adam Lanza (note links to parts 2 & 3 at bottom of article): http://www.thedailybeast.com/articles/2012/12/22/i-was-adam-lanza.html 3. EMA Sends Letter to Vice-President Joe Biden Concerning Violent Media’s Role in Sandy Hook Shooting (Note that actual letter is embedded in the article): http://www.gamepolitics.com/2013/01/07/ema-sends-letter-vice-president-joe-biden-concerning-violent-medias-role-sandy-hook-shoot#.UPEk5KXiqs0 4. EFF’s Guide to CDA 230: The […]

What goes into “News of the Week”

Here is where I’ll post links to stories raised in “News of the Week” segment of the class. Will also post links to other stories, whether they come up in class or otherwise. Hopefully the spirit to post interesting stories on video game law and what is related will move everyone to do some version […]